AWMS 2012 Conference


Registrations open
20 June 2012

Call for Abstracts close
31 August 2012

Closing date for Practitioner Award Submissions
31 August 2012

Authors notified of acceptance
30 September 2012

Preliminary program available
September 2012

Early bird closing date
8 October 2012

27-29 November 2012, Adelaide South Australia

Please note this program is preliminary only and subject to change.

The 2012 AWMS Conference marks 25 years of active promotion of scientific wildlife management. The Conference will be held in the Grand Chancellor Hotel, Hindley Street, Adelaide, South Australia.

The 2012 theme is: Wildlife Management and Water – How muddied are the waters by a Boom and Bust System?

High profile speakers will lead symposia on how boom and bust systems affect terrestrial and fresh water wildlife management. The proposed symposia topics are -

  • Boom and Bust Pest Animal Management,
  • Managing Wildlife in Regulated River Systems,
  • Arid Land Wildlife Management in a Boom and Bust System,
  • Managing Water for Wildlife,
  • Marine Wildlife Management,
  • Student symposia.

There will be general sessions in the conference for papers which do not readily fit into symposia.

AWMS strongly encourages student participation. A special symposia is held for students where they compete to win the prize for the best spoken paper. A prize is also presented for the best poster. AWMS also provides subsidised assistance to students (on application). Open the webpage subsidies for more information.

NEW AWARD - The DW Cooper Student Thesis Award
The AWMS committee decided during 2011 that greater acknowledgement of student achievements was required. It was agreed that an annual award should be made to a student member for a thesis of excellence within the field of scientifically-based wildlife management research. Such an award would be structured to ensure that the student’s research activities are brought to the attention of the broader AWMS membership, and that the student is encouraged to maintain ongoing active involvement with the society.
Download the DW Cooper Student Thesis Awards Information Sheet
Download the DW Cooper Student Thesis Award Application Form

Photo competion
Download the flyer

Practitioner's Award
The society has established an award up to the value of AUD$2500, including a cash prize of AUD$1000 for a field practitioner or practitioner group demonstrating best practice in scientific wildlife management in the Australasian region. Please download the flyer with detailed information. Closing date for Award submissions - 31 August 2012.

Pre-conference tour
the flyer with detailed information.
A pre-conference tour of Kangaroo Island has been organised for Saturday 24 November and Sunday 25 November. Cost is $220 per person, maximum of 10 paying persons. The $220 covers transport for the two days, lunch, pre-dinner drinks, and dinner on Saturday, accommodation at Cape du Couedic, breakfast, morning tea and lunch on Sunday. Management issues addressed during the tour will include koalas, Glossy-black cockatoos, deer, seals, goats, penguins and cats. (Note: if insufficient registrations are received by 19 October 2012, the tour may be cancelled and all monies refunded.). Comprehensive details in the flyer.

Post-conference tour
“Expressions of interest are sought from conference delegates to participate in a one day tour by mini-bus of the Coorong area on Friday 30 November. The tour will be led by Associate Professor David Paton (the leading scientific expert on the Coorong) and staff from the Department of Environment, Water and Natural Resources.

The tour will leave Adelaide about 7.30 am, return about 6pm and cost in the vicinity of $50-100 depending on numbers. The tour will only proceed if there is sufficient interest. Those interested must email by Friday 2nd November. You will be contacted after this date to confirm if the tour is going ahead.

Payment will then have to be made by Friday 9th November.


tern crc nswparks
Program &
Book of Abstracts
Silver Sponsors




SA Arid Lands Natural Resource Management Board